Teachsafety

parent and teach safe kids

Human Trafficing

on March 31, 2012

Yesterday I met with an advocate fighting to teach Americans about human trafficking.

Things I did not know and want to research more about……

This information came from an  advocate, she is asking me to become involved.

She feels my push for safety for children dovetails well with her work.  I can see that this may be true, who is to say who the adult with bad behavior might be, or what their plans might be……I have dealt with a pedophile premise,but I can now see that limits the scope of my outreach.

If we give a child a safety plan, I am hoping that we then ward off persons with bad behavior of all kinds.  This is a very sobering subject.

Because I live in CA, we have many illegal immigrants that are one of the targeted populations, then girls and boys…….I5 is a corridor gangs use for trafficking human cargo.

Here are a few of the things she wanted to discuss, and I am attending an FBI seminar next month to learn more.

-Only after drugs, humans are the most trafficked commodity by gangs in the U.S.

-the initial amount paid for a human is approximately, $90.00, they are repeatedly resold.

-after Thailand and the Philipeans, the U.S. has the most slaves in captivity.

-at any one time 200,000-400,000 people are in transit or in captivity in the U.S. at any one time.

I  had lots of questions about her statistics, but am intrigued to dig up more information.

What do you know about this?

I do see that it works with my basic safety plan for all children  ,situational safety,  but gives me more food for thought…

She suggests I write a teen portion for my book, ( that has been outlined) and include this.  She is most excited about the subject being taught in schools as she is most worried about at risk youth…….without family  parenting.

The tentative title is What Should You Do, With Teens?  What do you think?

One response to “Human Trafficing

  1. Most abused and molested children know the adult, thus we teach children to get away from and tell a trusted adult about any bad behavior…….less often we have children aproached by a pedophile and now I’ll learn more about human trafficking…….and how that impacts what I teach.

Leave a Reply

